Many thanks to Traquair House for facilitating this camera's location and to Tweed Rivers Fisheries Association for capitally funding its installation. Dating back to 1107, Traquair was originally a hunting lodge for the kings and queens of Scotland. Later a refuge for Catholic priests in times of terror the Stuarts of Traquair supported Mary Queen of Scots and the Jacobite cause without counting the cost. The name Traquair comes from tret or tre a word of Celtic origin meaning a dwelling place or hamlet, and from quair meaning a stream with a winding course. The Quair burn joins the River Tweed a few hundred yards from the rear of the house. The Upper Tweed is very water dependant and if early autumn enjoys heavy rainfall, September will encourage some summer salmon and sea trout into it. Mid to late October will see good numbers of fresh and coloured fish begin to appear through the beats, but to experience the best fishing, November is the month to go.